Tenant Resources



Harrison Properties represents the owner’s interest and has fiduciary responsibilities to the owner of the rental unit you may apply for. We are obligated to treat all parties fairly, respond accurately and honestly to all questions, and to disclose material facts about the property. Additional information regarding this agency relationship is explained in the Consumer Information Statement (CIS), which must be signed by you prior to signing a lease.


All prospective tenants must meet qualifications based on rental and employment history, as well as income and credit standards. We will run a credit report from a nationally recognized credit reporting company on all applicants. Income assessment is based on gross monthly income. If two or more applicants are sharing a rental unit, their combined income will be considered. As a guideline, gross monthly income of the applicant(s) should be 3 times the monthly rent.


Although many of our rental houses permit pets, most of our apartments do not. Please ask us, before scheduling a showing, if you need a pet friendly rental. If owners do accept pets, an addendum to the lease and a pet deposit are required.


Each adult intending to reside in a unit must complete a separate application and pay the application fee. In addition to the application and $35 fee, the following items must be emailed or faxed to us in order to process your application:


Processing an application requires a minimum of 2-4 days. Once completed, we present your information to the owner of the property, who makes the final decision to approve or deny an application.

Harrison Properties acts in compliance with all fair housing practices and standards. Federal and state laws make it illegal for anyone to refuse to rent because of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, age, disability or national origin.



In order to reserve the rental unit and take it off the market, we must receive a security deposit equal to one month’s rent. Click here to make payment via your secure tenant portal. Payment can also be made in the form of a money order, certified check or bank check and delivered to our office.


Prior to moving in, you will be scheduled for a ½ hour orientation and lease signing in our office. It is required, that you purchase renter’s insurance to protect your furniture, clothing, and electronics. The owner’s insurance does not cover any of your property in case of damage or loss. You will need to show proof of renter’s insurance at your orientation. We are required to give you the following three documents, which you should review prior to orientation. You will be asked to initial your receipt of these documents during orientation.

Summary of the Delaware Landlord Tenant Code

The purpose of the Delaware Residential Landlord Tenant Code is to familiarize tenants and landlords with their rights and obligations under the code.

Protect Your Family From Lead in your Home

Many houses and apartments built before 1978 have paint that contains high levels of lead. Lead from paint, chips and dust can pose serious health hazards. This link will provide information about lead paint safety.

Delaware Smoke Detector Law

The owner of your building is required by law to provide smoke detection devices outside the bedrooms of your apartments. After 1 month’s residency, tenants are responsible for the maintenance of such devices by providing operable batteries for the smoke detectors. Compliance with this law is for your protection and the protection of your neighbors. All utilities for which you are responsible must be turned on in your name by move-in day. Please bring your new Delmarva account number to orientation. Learn about the law in more depth by clicking here.

Link for Delmarva


Link for Comcast



A Harrison Properties representative will meet you at your new home on move-in day to do an inspection of the rental unit. You can pay your first month’s rent on your tenant portal or bring it with you (in the form of a money order, certified check or bank check) on move-in day. If you have been approved for a pet, the pet deposit is also due.


The summary of the Delaware Landlord-Tenant Code will answer your questions regarding your rights and responsibilities. Your lease complies with the Code and outlines what is required of you during your tenancy. Likewise, the Wilmington City Code outlines your responsibilities as a city resident.


As a reminder, rent is due on the first day of each month. Payment can be made on your tenant portal or mailed/delivered to Harrison Properties Ltd at 1311 Rodney St., Wilmington, DE 19806. Rents received after the 5th of the month are automatically subject to a late charge equal to 5% of the monthly rent


We ask that you make all requests for maintenance in writing to the Harrison Properties’ email address specified in Repairs-Section 12 of your lease. We will respond via e-mail within 24 hours to verify receipt of the request and let you know our plan of action. It is most important to email us immediately regarding water problems, such as, leaking pipes and ceilings, dripping faucets, and running toilets. Call the emergency number specified in Repair-Section 12 for any maintenance requiring immediate attention.


The City of Wilmington issues free parking stickers to residents living in neighborhoods with restricted parking. To obtain a sticker you must visit the County/City Office Building, 8th and French Street and present a signed copy of your lease, your driver’s license and registration. For more information visit http://www.wilmingtonde.gov/government/parkingtips or call the Division of Revenue at (302) 571-4320 (select option #4 when you hear the recorded message) or call the Office of Constituent Services at (302) 576-2489. Please note you will be granted only a temporary sticker if you have an out of state license.

If you expect guests who will need to park on the street, you may contact the City for a guest parking pass by calling (302) 576-3980. This is for time-limited, on-street parking only and does not exempt drivers from other parking regulations. Be prepared to provide the following: vehicle’s make, color, license plate number, parking location, contact name and phone number. You may also contact guestpass@WilmingtonDE.gov.



Please remember, you must give 60 days written notice, as required by the Landlord-Tenant Code, if you do not wish to renew your lease. The notice will be effective the first day of the month following the date notice is given. Month to month leases still require 60 days notice. Real estate agents at Harrison Properties will begin showing your apartment to prospective tenants. You will be given advance notice via text, cell phone or email for each showing.


Although we will be sad to see you go, we want your move-out experience to be as smooth as your move-in. The Move-Out Checklist will help you get organized. Utilities must remain in your name until the day the lease terminates, regardless of residency. At that time, the utilities will be transferred to an incoming tenant or into Harrison Properties’ name. We do not, under any circumstances, want the utilities turned off.


Please refer to the Security Deposit Addendum for detailed information regarding deductions to your deposit. You may not use your security deposit in lieu of your last months rent. When you have vacated, a representative of Harrison Properties will inspect the unit. You may be present, if you choose. Within 20 days from the termination of your lease, we will mail you the Security Deposit Disposition and deposit due you. Don’t forget to give us your forwarding address. We’d love to stay in touch to help you with your real estate needs in the future!